Injecting lump sum into Mortgage.

Echelle15

If i were to inject a lump sum, say 50000, into my mortgage, is there a formula/calculation of what the effect would be either to monthly payments over the original 20 years mortgage period or if I was to reduce the loan period?
Hope my query is clear.

If i were to inject a lump sum, say 50000, into my mortgage, is there a formula/calculation of what the effect would be either to monthly payments over the original 20 years mortgage period or if I was to reduce the loan period?
Hope my query is clear.

I'm no expert but I think it would be crazy to inject your own money into your mortgage. Would you not be better getting an offset mortgage which will save you paying the interest and yet will still give you access to your money. The othe important thing to remember, and not trying to be morbit, but if you our your partner, (assuming you have one), die for some reason then the mortgage will be paid off. By paying 50k off it now you could be doing your nearest and dearest out of a decent inheritance.

I'm no expert but I think it would be crazy to inject your own money into your mortgage. Would you not be better getting an offset mortgage which will save you paying the interest and yet will still give you access to your money. The othe important thing to remember, and not trying to be morbit, but if you our your partner, (assuming you have one), die for some reason then the mortgage will be paid off. By paying 50k off it now you could be doing your nearest and dearest out of a decent inheritance.

Off set only work you you are a large percentage of the mortgage saved.

As for partner dying I would say that the statistics are against that...

Is 50k is likely to be a big enough percantage? What percentage do you think would be the crossover point where it becomes better to offset ?