ICAI Membership & Fees

Dowee

I'm a qualified Chartered Accountant but don't work as an accountant or auditor anymore (haven't done in 8-9 years) and am highly unlikely to again. I'm considering giving up my membership of the Institute as frankly the fees are very high and I get little to no benefit (given my current career etc) no doubt it is of benefit to those in other roles etc.

Has anyone on here ever done this or have experience of discussing it with them? Do you know if it is possible to re-join at a later point if you wanted to?

I'll eventually be contacting the institute about it but I'm just trying to get some information before I do.

Thanks

Hi,

Its been a few years but just to add to the above.

Do any ICAI members on this forum ever wonder about the size of the annual subs fee requested. This year its €695. All I get in return for this is a monthly magazine that I don't read.

What are other CAs thoughts on this fee and does anyone know what its for?

circa 25k members in Ireland paying this equates to circa €17m in subs fee income alone for the Institute. What do they spend this money on? What are members getting in return for their fee and is there value for money?

Hi,

Its been a few years but just to add to the above.

Do any ICAI members on this forum ever wonder about the size of the annual subs fee requested. This year its €695. All I get in return for this is a monthly magazine that I don't read.

What are other CAs thoughts on this fee and does anyone know what its for?

circa 25k members in Ireland paying this equates to circa €17m in subs fee income alone for the Institute. What do they spend this money on? What are members getting in return for their fee and is there value for money?
its 595 + 100 optional payment to a benevolent fund.

I gave up my membership years ago, and I do work part time as an accountant.