I havent a clue what a 'stamp' is

MsPBL

In relation to wages, tax etc, I dont know what a 'stamp' is or how they work. I've been working full time for 4 years and part time for 2. How do I know if I have enough earned?

I believe an insurable week is where an employee receives a payment for any part of a week which is subject to PRSI. Where no PRSI is payable (below threshold), the employee is deemed to have made a payment. The contribution week is the same as the income tax week.

To check how many contributions you've made, refer to your p60 for number of weeks insurable employment.

(That is if a 'stamp' is indeed a contribution for an insurable week, although judging by the likes of this thread: http://www.askaboutmoney.com/showthread.php?t=33797 the whole thing looks very hairy.)

Before the days of PRSI every employee paid a stamp, as in insurance. The term is still used in relation to PRSI/PPSI. I think they are now called credits and relate to the number of weeks contributions you have made. For example:- will I have enough stamps to claim unemployment benefit/old age contributary pension etc. Not explaining myself very well but I hope this makes sense.

How do I know if I have enough earned?
For what? If it's for optical/dental treatment benefit then call Welfare in Letterkenny and once you give them your PPSN they should be able to tell you where you stand. If it's for other PRSI linked benefits then you may need to call another office.

The term stamp (as outlined above) could be used in the past to denote a week where PSRI had been deducted and paid on your behalf. If you had worked 72 weeks you would have 72 stamps - presumably this related to the fact that someone somewhere either had to attach a stamp to a form to show the payment had been made or someone had to stamp a form with ink.

For most people (except perhaps longtime payroll & social welfare people) the term stamp means nothing in this context any more.