Hypothetical Question if Ireland defaults

tomfox3

Greetings all,
I am a new user and had a hypothetical question. I know nobody can predict the future, and I know any opinions are just opinions and not advice etc etc, but its just a hypothetical.

If Joe Soap had 100k in Ulsterbank on a demand deposit account and Ireland decides (or is forced) to default on the bailout..

1. Would Joes money be frozen and seized as a state asset? Or would it be unaffected as its in a private non state owned bank. Didn't depositors in Argentina have their private accounts frozen? and/or seized?

2. If Ireland left the Euro (is that even possible?) would Euros owned by all Irish citizens in banks operating in IReland be suddenly converted to punt?

Ok I know nobody can definitively answer these Hypothetical but people like Joe are probably thrawling through the posts and cannot find the above in plain speak (as he is a total noob). (plus the media is so unreliable and seems to get off on scare mongering and doom selling) :)

I was under the impression that Ulster Bank came under the jurisdiction of the UK

1. I would imagine that any bank operating in the State would have to obey Irish law, so if the law legalises confiscation, all banks here would be affected.
2. It wouldn't make any sense for Ireland to leave the euro, but IF it did, surely all banks doing business here would have to operate in the legal tender of Ireland.

If these financial possibilities seem likely to you, you should arrange your financial matters so that you are comfortable with whatever risks you perceive. Whatever you decide will have a cost, whether it is putting euro into a bank abroad with a much lower interest rate, or transferring euro into a foreign currency in an Irish or offshore account, with possible currency exchange rate losses.

Here is my opinion.
1) Yes, there would be a limit imposed on withdrawals as nobody in their right mind would want to have a devalued new currency