How to invest with US Dollars?

SkippyOD

Hi All,
I have been working in the United States for the last 3 years and have accumulated US$55,000 and am returning to reside in Ireland. I don't want to change this to Euro's because of the current unfavourable exchange rate. I'm looking to invest this amount in either a US$ equities or a US$ savings account and then change over to Euro's when the Eur : US$ ratio is between 1.10 and 1.15. I want to do this investment in Ireland and I have the flexability of investing this amount for a time period of 2 - 7 years. Has anyone any experience of investing with foreign currency and how easy is it to manage / keep track off while at home?
Any thoughts would be appreciated.

My advice would be vanguard.com, they have a large selection of index funds and very low fees. There total stock market fund, VTI or VTSMX, is fairly popular.

For savings accounts try HSBC, Emigrant, ING, etc.

When will the exchange rate get to 1.10-1.15 ?

If you know that for a fact, you could make a killing. In my opinion we are more likely to see 1.35 long before 1.15 ! (it's only an opinion!)

Trying to forecast exchange rates is more or less impossible.

I guess what I was trying to say was that I don't want to trade it in now when the US dollar is so weak. Before 2006 the 20 year average of the US dollar was less than 1.2. I'm assuming it will return somewhere close to this eventually and am prepared to wait, hence 2-7 years.
I know nothing as fact and am working off a very simple ideology i.e. what goes up must come down.

I guess what I was trying to say was that I don't want to trade it in now when the US dollar is so weak. Before 2006 the 20 year average of the US dollar was less than 1.2. I'm assuming it will return somewhere close to this eventually and am prepared to wait, hence 2-7 years.
I know nothing as fact and am working off a very simple ideology i.e. what goes up must come down.