How to calculate annual return

henry

Hello,

I need some help with my maths.

I starting putting € 250 per month into a fund. I have been doing this for 13 months - € 3,250 in total. The fund is now worth € 4,100. I am trying to work out the annualised return.
I realise the fund has grown by 26% in simple terms but this does not take into account the timing of the monthly contributions.
Any answers ?

Could you work it backwards using this calculator - by tweaking the interest rate until you hit the current value of the fund? It's giving me c. 47% as the annualised return!

Thanks, could do that alright but there must be some method of calculating it exactly. Its curiosity more than anything.

Do you know how to use the 'Goal Seek' function of MS Excel?

It would be very simple to set up an equation and use the goal seek to solve for this - the answer is 56% (assuming contributions paid monthly in arrears).

It would be very simple to set up an equation and use the goal seek to solve for this - the answer is 56% (assuming contributions paid monthly in arrears).
Using the XIRR function in excel I got a value of 47.0115%.

I'm open to correction as I'm basing my result on an unseen calculation (dependant on excel) whereas CapitalCCC is using a visible calculation based upon personal input. I would have assumed that the two calculations would have provided the same result.

For the sake of clarity, should the op wish to have a go themselves...

Date Payment Note
01-Jan-06 -250 Initial investment
01-Feb-06 -250 Monthly investment
01-Mar-06 -250 Monthly investment
01-Apr-06 -250 Monthly investment
01-May-06 -250 Monthly investment
01-Jun-06 -250 Monthly investment
01-Jul-06 -250 Monthly investment
01-Aug-06 -250 Monthly investment
01-Sep-06 -250 Monthly investment
01-Oct-06 -250 Monthly investment
01-Nov-06 -250 Monthly investment
01-Dec-06 -250 Monthly investment
01-Jan-07 -250 Monthly investment
31-Jan-07 4100 Investment return
850 Profit
47.01152211% IRR