How are undistributed profits in a company taxed?

Brendan Burgess

Founder
I want to check the calculations I used in , so I need to confirm my understanding of how corporation profits are taxed.

Let's say I am an IT contractor with €100k of trading profits this year which I leave in the company. Is the following correct:

Corporation Tax at 12.5% - €12,500
Leaving €87,500

This is subject to a Professional Service Company Surcharge of 7.5% - €6562.5
Leaving the company with €80937.5

So the effective tax rate is 19%.

Rental and Investment Profits
If I accumulate money in the company, let's say it earns €100,000 in rental and dividend income.

Corporation Tax @ 25%
Leaving €75,000
Investment Income Surcharge 20% €15,000
Leaving the company with €60,000

Effective tax rate within the company: 40%

Is the Surcharge on Undistributed Income the same thing as the Close Company Surcharge?
Yes

It does not apply to trading income, undistributed or otherwise. An IT contractor company will not face any such surcharge unless it has investment income.

CLOSE COMPANY SURCHARGE

The surcharge for undistributed investment income is 20%. Service companies are subject to an additional surcharge of 15% of 50% of undistributed trading income.
A service company being a company whose income is derived from carrying on a profession or providing professional services.
In TB 48 the revenue give a list of occupations that they treat as professions for the application of the service company surcharges, Included are Management consultant and computer programmer which I would take to encompass IT Contractors of any kind.

Re: CLOSE COMPANY SURCHARGE

From [broken link removed] in PDF format.

Professional Service Company Surcharge
Section 441 TCA 1997 provides for a surcharge on certain undistributed income of service companies. The
section defines a service company as including close companies where the principal part of the company’s income is derived from: