How are attached Granny Flats being assessed for the LPT?

L

ladybird

I see in the Household Charge there is provision for them but there is none in the new LPT?

Is this an oversight? Or will a person with a flat (separate meters, separate entrance) worth €20,000 on an €80,000 house have to pay double the LPT?

ie both are in the <€100,000 category so you pay double. Even if the flat is not let out.

Any help at all would be very much appreciated,

Ladybird

Included in the overall value as I understand it, if it can't be sold separately then it is a part of the house for valuation purposes.

You're a star Wbbs!

Thanks for the prompt reply - would you think me very cheeky to ask is there a link to or section of the act i could read to confirm this? (just to totally use you you understand :D)

Ladybird

I'm no expert! Just happened to be at a session given by Revenue staff on the topic and this question was asked. To be honest they were kind of hazy on quite a few questions.

This doesn't surprise me. I tried finding a contact email for the LPT section of revenue - there is no section. Said it's still under household charge.

I contacted the household charge website email and they said it's nothing to do with us. Contact revenue.

I read the leaflet they are sending in March and this issue isn't addressed at all as far as i can see - yet special provision was made in the HC so it's not like it's a new issue.

I am currently reading through the act (dear god!!!) to try and get a legal answer as someone is making a financial decision based on the answer and so it is important.

Thanks for replying,

Ladybird

Ok, to answer my own question, it looks like the relevant section is on page 10 of the act where it says roughly that the property must be able to be sold at a market value - and as the Granny Flat is not worth anything by itself and cannot be sold by itself, it has no market value and is therefore exempt.