how are accountant fees charged?

D

dexter

are they typically charged at a percentage of gross sales or is there another method?

i am a sole trader with gross sales of 640,000 for the first 6 months of this year and my accountant fees are 5,500 for the first 6 months. Does this sound like the typical price i should be paying?

basically i'm just trying to figure out if i'm getting a good deal from my accountant.

Different firms have different pricing policies, although I don't know of any who charge business customers on the basis of turnover. Prices can vary depending on the complexity of the business, quality of records etc. Its impossible to comment on the figure you quote without knowing what services you received for this price.

Accountants fee are charged per hour it takes to perform what ever service you require. The charge out rate will vary depending on the level of seniority of the staff invloved. This fee policy should be fully detailed in the engagement letter you should have with your accountant.

The 6 month fee seems a bit a high but of course would depend on what stage the books are at before the accountant commenced work. Also was there any other worked performed such as income tax compliance or advisory services? The best way to see if this is good value is to get another quote from a similiar size firm

Not all firms charge on a per-hour basis although that is a very common pricing mechanism.

True, but, for audit purposes you can only charge per hour. Any other pricing mechanism may undermine the auditors independence and objectivity!

Are you sure this is true? Is that part of the new ISA? Its the first I heard of that rule.

Anyway, the OP is a sole trader so should not have to worry about auditing for a while yet.

Are you sure this is true? Is that part of the new ISA? Its the first I heard of that rule.