Home office expenses

diggerbarnes

Hi all,

I'm currently working as a contractor with my home set up as company's registered address (I typically work on-site).

I've two questions regarding my broadband / home phone connection:

1) Would I be better to have it in the company name or leave it as a private bill?
2) If I leave it as a private bill, what percentage is reasonable to claim back as an expense, and when calculating the percentage should I do it ex. VAT or inc. VAT?

Similarly for light and heat, what percentage would be (typically) correct to claim as an expense - 1/6? (Again, inc. VAT or ex. VAT?)

Thanks!

Dude I'm no tax expert but I think you have to be careful if you use part of your principle private residence as a business premises. If your house is sold (trading up etc) above the original purchase price you might end up having to pay tax on some of the gain made. As I say I’m no tax expert and maybe you know this already anyway.

Assuming your home office takes up a small fraction of the house, and electricity is for heating and light for one room, say, computer and peripherals, I would leave the bills in your personal name.
One sixth sounds reasonable to claim back, if one room is used as home office. You can only claim vat relief on the business expense, so one sixth of the net cost, then work out the vat on that for your vat returns.
Keep all records neatly with your company invoices, and mark on each the details of what refund you claimed frrom the company. As a straight refund of expenses this should be taxfree in your hands.

Thanks everyone.

I'll go with 50% on the broadband/phone expenses (this would be an accurate reflection of use) and 1/6 on the light and heat, both based on the VAT exclusive figures.

(I mightn't bother claiming the VAT back as it'll amount to no more than a couple of Euro each month, I'll see how the figures work out.)