Healthcare workers without childcare

zsuzsa

Hi there, I am a doctor, we have been informed by our employer that we are still expected to cover childcare. Now I had a childminder arranged when the creches closed but she won't come to the house now. I tried looking online as I understand we as essential workers can still have essential childcare provided but nobody will come - I was accused of acting illegally by one childminder in pressuring people to come and work! Has anyone got any advice? I would 100% prefer to be at work and can split half days with my husband but that's not acceptable to work. I really feel I'm doing my best here, it's out of my control.

Hi there, I am a doctor, we have been informed by our employer that we are still expected to cover childcare. Now I had a childminder arranged when the creches closed but she won't come to the house now. I tried looking online as I understand we as essential workers can still have essential childcare provided but nobody will come - I was accused of acting illegally by one childminder in pressuring people to come and work! Has anyone got any advice? I would 100% prefer to be at work and can split half days with my husband but that's not acceptable to work. I really feel I'm doing my best here, it's out of my control.
Really tough and an awful lot of people in the same spot. I know it's not the thing to say or do but grandparents are doing this in their thousands. In a lot of cases they don't really want to, nor do the children want to ask, but it's their children and grandchildren and it has to be done. Hate to say it, but what about your own parents?