Giving House To Daughter...

colin_hanley

Hi, many years ago I bought my family home from my siblings after our mother died, I've been letting my elderly sister live there for several years now as she has no home.

Unfortunately it looks like my sister shall be going to a nursing home soon. I'd like to give the house to my daughter, as herself and her family have no realistic opportunity to get on the housing market. I was planning to will it to her, but would prefer her to get it now so she can at least get herself on the property market and save all the rent herself and husband pare paying now. It's not in an ideal area, so I expect she'll probably want to sell when her children get a bit older.

Is there a standard process for a person to give a house to another person without selling ? Would there be tax liabilities when I hand over house ? If my daughter sells down the road does she have to pay any specific tax because it was gifted to her ?

The house is worth approx 350K.

Thanks,
Colin

Hi,

Below is my understanding, and shouldn't be treated as Tax advice.

Unfortunately there are tax implications here. I'll go through what you've laid out, and maybe someone else could suggest a different way to approach. Currently the only real way of passing a house to a child is on your death, if it was your principal residence, and the child has lived there and retains it for a period after inheritance.

Firstly on your side:
If the value of the property has increased since you purchased / inherited it, you will be liable for Capital Gains Tax (CGT) on the increase in value / amount paid. Even though you are gifting it, Revenue will deem that you have disposed of the property at market value.

On the Transfer, your daughter will have to pay Stamp Duty, again based on the market value.