FTB mortgage choice advice

georged3rd

FTB (joint) & just paid a deposit on a new build. We're delighted. Complete newbs to the world of mortgages but learning fast with the help of AAM.
HTB approved. Looking for mortgage at 70% LTV.

Questions:

1. How soon after placing a deposit on a new build do I need to get a loan offer?

2. Is it essential to have a loan offer in place before signing the developer's contract? Or is it possible to sign a contract including a stipulation that it is subject to loan offer receipt? Do most developers tend to agree to such a stipulation (they did for someone else that I know in the same estate but I don't want to over risk it either)?

3. Where can I find a good calculator illustrating how much can be saved (in money & term time) by overpaying (e.g. lumpsum)?

4. What is the easiest way to find out what PTSB's overpayment (e.g. lumpsum) options & costs are?
- PTSB's Flexible Mortgage Options outlined at https://www.permanenttsb.ie/globala...s/permanent-tsb-flexible-mortgage-options.pdf don't appear to be straight forward to interpret. Complicated formula on page 18 (section: Fixed Term Loans)

5. What is the simplest way/source to estimate the fixed rate penalties for overpaying while on a fixed rate for the various banks?

6. If we were to start a family & one of us was to stop working for a period of time (6 to 12 months or longer) would most/all banks likely prevent us from switching (either after breaking out or at end of term)? We want to avoid being stuck with a bank with less competitive rates & flexibility such as PTSB.

7. Do KBC have a criteria for exemptions in that the loan amount requested must be at least €20K more than your income figure * 3.5? If so, has anyone had KBC waive this criteria (e.g. if the loan amount requested was only ~3K more than income * 3.5%)?

8. Are UB slower than most to process applications?