Free Dental Visits

Duck

I have been working and paying PRSI for the last 4 years,I am in full time work and in a permanent position. I recently went to the Dentist for a check up under the impression that it was free because I pay PRSI,however the Dentist has told me that I dont qualify because I haven't been paying PRSI for atleast 5 years,is this true???He wants me back for a number of visits and needless to say it will be very costly if I cannot avail of the relief due to paying PRSI. Is there any way around this or can I even claim some of the expenses off tax at the end of the year????

You only need 39 contributions in the year of reckoning which is 2004. The dentist is talking ****! Apply for the benefit and see what happens.

You can check if you are entitled to 2 free check-ups/cleaning per annum by calling the DSFA Treatment Benefit section on 1890 400 400 (Ext 4480) and quoting your PPS number.

If you are entitled, when you make an appointment with the dentist tell the receptionist you qualify under PRSI and fill in a Tretment Benefit Form.

You can only claim tax relief on form MED2 for non-routine dental treatment. See [broken link removed]for details.

Just ring Welfare on LoCall 1890 400 400 (have your PPSN handy) and they will tell you if you are in benefit or not. If your dentist is playing silly buggers about providing PRSI subsidised treatment then complain to him and find another one.

Post crossed with delgirl's.

Dependig on your age you need to have different numbers of PRSI contributions.

A call to Welfare is best.

Well if this is a service then possibly Yes. Might fire off an email to Welfare.

I remember when I started working and was over the age threshold i remember having to have 5 years prsi contributions before getting the subsidised and free visits. Also a collegue who has only been on the payroll for 2 years (was contracting previously) was NOT entitled to subsidised dental treatment and had to pay 250 for 3 fillings.