fixed term tenancy

Marcecie

I would appreciate any advice.
I have a property rented out on a fixed term tenancy for 1 year due to expire in 4 months, I have a tenancy agreement (not by solicitor).

now for the problem, the tenants emailed me two weeks ago to say they will be leaving when tenancy is up to move to a smaller house, I have had no problems with them. I know of a family in village looking to rent long term so approached them and they were interested.

I phoned tenants to make arrangements to let people view the property and they were very angry-- they said they had not given me offical notice, they would not allow anyone in to view, also they said they may not move when tenancy is up but if they do i will get 1 months notice
this is my first time renting and am wondering what I did wrong and what can I do now

They told you in writing in an email, which I presume you still have, that they are leaving - I don't know how they can consider this as not official, they could try that trick if they had only said it to you verbally, but they gave it in writing.

What you can do now is give them official notice that once their contract is up you want them out. You have no obligations to enter into a further contract with them, you can let the house to whomever you want once the contract with the current tentants expire.

Marcecie said:
I phoned tenants to make arrangements to let people view the property and they were very angry-- they said they had not given me offical notice, they would not allow anyone in to view, also they said they may not move when tenancy is up but if they do i will get 1 months notice.
Are they good tenants? Do they pay on time and is the property clean? You may wish to keep them if that's the case. I wouldn't try to push them out at this stage unless you're certain that the other prospective tenants will take the property.