First time investor

E

Exile100

Hi All,

I'm a long time lurker, first time poster...

My breakdown is as follows:

Have been working in the south for 8 months now with job progressing well, I earn 36K, and in addition have a company pension at 4% gross income, which company matches.

I have rental outgoings of 400 pcm and household builds circa 100pcm so a total necessary outgoing of 500 pcm.

I have therefore roughly 2K per month to play around with, ideally I would like to get something away now for medium - long term i.e. 10 years plus as I have land back in the north which when settling down will be available to build on and would like to be in a strong position to do so without taking out a large mortgage.

I would ideally like to use the tax free investment vehicles such as ISAs to but haven't seen anything on the site to point in that direction (possibly looking in wrong area?) but basically any advice would be welcome as stated I am a complete novice and would appreciate any views as how I could make my money work best for me?

Regards,

J

Unfortunately we don't have any tax-free savings vehicles like ISAs south of the border. We had SSIAs until earlier this year but they haven't been replaced. So any savings products are taxed on the interest/growth in some form or another.

You have several choices - a regular savings account - see the Best Buys thread here. Or a low-charging unit-linked fund.

Unfortunately we don't have any tax-free savings vehicles like ISAs south of the border. We had SSIAs until earlier this year but they haven't been replaced.
There are also tax free (up to a limit) with CU and banks but the benefits are limited and the rates on offer can be lower than the net return on a demand deposit account at the moment.