Financial dilemma

Joe Nonety

I am switching jobs and I plan to buy a house. I'm 28 and have €3000 saved (along with maximum SSIA)

Choice A
Continue to save in the Credit Union until I've around €10,000 so that I could borrow around €25,000 for the deposit of a house.
This would mean I would probably be renting for around a year to achieve this.

Choice B
While changing jobs I can cash in the pension with my old company which is €12,000 (which would be €7,200 after paying 40% tax), I would then have the €10,000 which should give me the deposit and I could buy a house straight away. In my new job's pension I would change my AVC to 15% which would mean I'd have made up the difference within 3 or 4 years.

I feel a pension should never be touched, but at the same time buying a house is very important plus it saves me renting for a year, so I'm in a bit of a dilemma.
Any advice would be gratefully received.

Hiya, I'm no expert but I'd imagine that a house will earn you more in the long run than any pension fund ever would.
I'd say go an buy the house, especially if your pension is going to recover in a few years. And you're only 28. Loads of people don't really worry about pensions until about now, so you've lost nothing.
Go for it!
Go on, you're itching to do it anyway!

Are you certain that you meet the strict criteria required to allow you to cash in a pension, i.e. member of a scheme for less than the vesting period (usually 2 years)?