Father has worked for cash for 10years

Z

Zadien

Hey,

I’m wondering is anyone can shed some light on this very messy situation.

My father (Builder by trade) has worked for the last 10-12 years for cash, not one of those years went by where I didn’t try get him to start a legit business. Twice in that time I even arranged all the necessary forms.

As things stand now, he was just moved into my house (temporarily) after not being able to keep up with his rent. He always had some sort of work on the go but over the last year it’s slowed to a standstill. As far back as 3 years ago I was warning him he needed to get some sort of social welfare sorted for himself but it’s like talking to an inanimate carbon rod…I’m beyond frustrated.

He is a financial disaster zone, I am nothing like the man thankfully.

I ask you people, what are his options as things stand?

Is there any hope he’d qualify for welfare, failing that, what would happen if he applied for a job and suddenly popped back up on the tax radar.

I am willing to coach him through what he needs to do but whatever it is he needs to do it fast because I’ll be kicking him out of my house after Xmas.

Cheers.

Sorry, but it's hard to have sympathy for a man who stole tens of thousands from his neighbours over a 10-12 year period by not paying his taxes. I have lots of sympathy for you though!

Has he signed on for Job Seekers Allowance or spoken to anyone in DSP?

Though I do agree with Purple.

Sorry, but it's hard to have sympathy for a man who stole tens of thousands from his neighbours over a 10-12 year period by not paying his taxes. I have lots of sympathy for you though!

Oh hey, I didnt come here looking for sympathy on his behalf. I agree with you 100%, I'm his blood and I cant tell you the anger and frustration that resides in me toward him.

All I want him to get is the bones bare minimum to survive

Has he signed on for Job Seekers Allowance or spoken to anyone in DSP?

Though I do agree with Purple.