Ex partner abandoned mortgage

lostinemotion

hi , myself and my ex partner (french) (not married ) bought a house in county Limerick in 2005 , we lived there for 10 years , i then realized he had met a woman on the internet in France and he decided to leave me and the house and move back there , at this stage he told me he wanted nothing more to do with the house and i could deal with it alone (verbal , not written) . Both of our names are on the deeds. I have been paying the mortgage on my own since and paying all the maintenance of the house. Recently i have received a court summons that i need to attend court as he wants to force a sale from France. Im just wondering as he abandoned and left for another woman, do i have any kind of chance of retaining my home? or will the judge force me to sell? Im dreading the latter as i also run my business from here (i work as a therapist/councellor , part time ) but have resigned to the fact that this may happen and as unfair as it is, cest la vie. if anyone has any insight, id be happy to listen.

Many thanks

Aine

You need a solicitor.

Even if he had been paying the mortgage in full, I doubt he could force a sale.

You may be able to have his name removed from the title deeds.

Legally the fact that "he left for another woman" is irrelevant. That he left, that you have been paying he mortgage, that it is your home, that you run your business from there are all relevant. Are there children living with you.

You need a solicitor.

Even if he had been paying the mortgage in full, I doubt he could force a sale.

You may be able to have his name removed from the title deeds.

Legally the fact that "he left for another woman" is irrelevant. That he left, that you have been paying he mortgage, that it is your home, that you run your business from there are all relevant. Are there children living with you.
hi cremeegg thanks for the reply , no there are no kids , just 3 cats , 2 dogs and a badger !