Evening Work (apologies about the earlier dud post)

E

Emmalite

Hoping you folks can help me. I'm about to start teaching pc skills in the evening on a one on one basis. My question is relating to payments. How should I handle this? I'd like everything to be above board but I'm a bit clueless as to what I'm meant to do. I'll obviously agree a fee per hour with the customer in advance but how should I proceed? Should I expect payment after each session or should it be paid in part upfront and then in full at the end of the course. Should I invoice them and issue a receipt? Should I accept cash? And how do I go about notifying the tax office, or do I even need to (is there some thresehold of earning - I don't expect to be earning a huge amount). Any help or advice would be greatly apprecitated. And apologies for the amount of questions asked (complete beginner to this kind of thing!!) Oh, and I should add - will my employer be notified about this if I declare it to the tax office? I'd rather keep things seperate if I could.

Definitely cash up front, or after each session. You definitely don't want to be chasing people for cash owed.

Thanks for the reply Rainyday. You don't think asking for cash would appear unprofessional in any way do you? I know I'm only starting out but I do hope to do more of think kind of work in the future and I'd like to have a good start. And what about declaring it? Is there a need / is it best practice? I'd love to hear from people in a similar role and find out how they handle the whole payment issue.