Employment Expenses

L

Loaded

Currently in the process of filling out form 12. According to my tax credit certificate i am allowed flat rate expenses of 64 Euro for 2005. I work in manufacturing for a US multinational company and am not sure weather i am entitled to this. I did'nt apply for any flat rate expenses when i started work. Is this something every PAYE worker in the country is entitled to or does it depend on the nature of your work. When i saw the list of jobs on the revenue website my area was not there. Not sure weather to include it on form 12, maybe they will start asking questions. Anyone any views.

Every PAYE Employee is entitled to flat rate expenses depending on the nature of your work. I think the most you can claim is around €460 if you work in the mining industry. I wouldnt be sure how much you would be entitled to, but i am sure if you called up those great people working on the Revenue PAYE helpline they could help you....

If you want to read up on it try some of these...

If you just want to check if your on the correct amount (and not entitled to more/less) the top link should do...
[broken link removed]

Hope this is of some help.

Jockey said:
I wouldnt be sure how much you would be entitled to, but i am sure if you called up those great people working on the Revenue PAYE helpline they could help you....
On questioning a member of the revenue team about flat rate expenses the feedback was less than informed. They just wanted to know which one I was looking to claim and how much it was (I believe I could have told the girl ANYTHING and would have been given it).

Satanta said:
They just wanted to know which one I was looking to claim and how much it was (I believe I could have told the girl ANYTHING and would have been given it).
The onus is on the individual taxpayer to only claim what they are entitled to and to make sure that their tax affairs are up to date.

ClubMan said: