ecommerce site- delivery options

H

Hounddog

Hello everyone,
I am hoping people can help me with the the following. I am setting up a site for my hobby/ small business. It will mainly consist of small items -20 - 300 euro, 1-10 kg. I would like to offer delivery to Ireland, Britain and maybe further afield.
What are my options re delivery? Are there low cost courier services out there.? Realistically, what is the minimum worthwhile order value? How should I structure prices?

As I am new to this I would very much welcome any answers

Cheers

Offer a shipping cost that covers you up to 10kg and also offer free shipping on orders above X amount. There is no reason why you shouldn't have a margin on shipping as well as your products, especially if it will be a large part of your cost base. You will have a cash outlay and it will take up your time so cover yourself. There are loads of low cost carriers out there. I am constantly amazed at how little it costs. I can have a box picked up in Dublin at 5.00pm and have it in the This post will be deleted if not edited to remove bad language end of Mayo by 9.00am the next day for €13. The more you ship the better your rates will be. Talk to everyone. Try UPS, TNT, FedEx, Fastway etc and anyone else you can find in the phone book. If they have a depot near you then you will get a better service, especially if you are a small customer.
Your minimum order value will depend on how long it takes you to process an order and what your hourly costs is. If you want to earn €25 an hour and your overheads require you to multiply your labour rate by two then your hourly rate is €50. If processing takes 30 minutes then your minimum order value is at least €25. That’s the general idea anyway.

I am in the exact same situation as Hounddog so found your answer very helpful Purple, thanks! I asked a similar question ages ago here.