Early Retirement Plan

Eoghanowens

I plan to retire early in about 3 or 4 years at the age of 60 or 61 and have a plan to spend 6 months in France in a home that I own and 6 months back in Ireland.
My living costs will be €28,000 per year and to pay for that I have a pension of €100,000 that I can draw from at the rate of €25k now and €18k per year after I retire tax free.
My question is when I return from France I intend to work hopefully for 6 months which is to help pay for the next 6 months away.
If I cannot find a job am I entitled to claim Jobseekers allowance or would I be looked at as not looking for a full time job and therefore not entitled to claim assistance.
I have been working for 42 years and have never claimed for assistance before.
I have no mortgage and live with my daughter and just have a yearly expense of about €28,000.

Two main points:
1. If your pension fund is worth €100,000 and you take €25,000 (25%) as a lump sum, the €18,000 pa will only last some 4 years. The State Pension, payable from age 66 (currently) is c€13,000 pa. So where will your “yearly expenses of €28,000” come from?
2. If you are claiming Jobseekers Benefit (limited to 9 months of payment), you are expected to be available for and actively seeking employment (if you are under age 62). You could possibly claim Jobseekers Allowance when JB runs out, but that is means tested. And again, you are expected to be available for work (if under age 62).

Hi, thanks for your reply.
my wife will also be in this equation which will be enough to give us a €26,000 yearly pension. That will do us in the big picture after 66. I'll have a bit of savings of about €25k and sell one of our cars about €15k if we have to, to tie us over till 66. I know the 62 year rule as well.