Dual Indemnity

Betty Crocker

Bit of background first.
In January this year I was driving my husband's car (I am a named driver) and I hit another car. The other driver called the Gardai and someone came and took details etc. I paid €450 for my husband's car to be fixed. My husband's insurance company (AIG) said the other guy's car was to be written off and paid him €950. I had intended to pay this back to them before the next renewal so as not to affect NCD.

Fast forward to August and I get a call from AIG telling me that the other guy and his passenger are claiming for personal injury. AIG said they would try to settle it outside of the Injury Board but I haven't heard anything since. They also said they would claim some of the costs from my own insurance company (Liberty).

Now my husband's renewal has come (via Chill.ie) and he has lost several years of his NCD meaning that his policy is up €1,200 on last year. Chill said that he cannot change insurers as there is an open claim.

I contacted Liberty and they said that my NCD will also be affected when my renewal comes around.

Is this correct? Are we both totally screwed for the next few years? Are we better off NOT being named drivers on each other's cars?

In short, yes it is correct. The question about drivers on these policies is usually worded "Have you (the insured) or any named driver had a claim or an accident in the last 5 years?" The answer in each case is "YES" so NCDs are reduced.

So if a couple have two cars, they are better off driving their own cars as much as possible?

If the husband has a crash in his car, only he is affected.

If he crashes his wife's car, they both lose their NCB?

Brendan

That's my understanding of it Brendan. It sucks.

I'm just comparing the figures from the renewal quote and last year's quote.

Sept 2016
€700 after 55% NCD. Total premium before discount would have been €1,555.

Sept 2017
€1,700 after 30% NCD. Total premium before discount would have been €2,428.