Deed of Assent - Cost?

1dave123

Hello

We expect to have probate sorted in the next few weeks - via a Personal Application (cost was €630 if anyone is interested).

My mother is not currently on the title deeds to the family home (only my father was named) and we will need to get a Deed of Assent completed.

I was wondering if anyone has ever got one of these done and what is the likely cost?

Many thanks

Maybe you could do this yourself too? Contact the property registration authority for help.

Speaking as a practising solicitor I wouldn't take on someones personal application for probate and 'finish' it by doing a deed of assent because of the potential for being implicated in a negligence action. I've had cause to try to sort out a couple of personal applications very recently where the executors got the whole thing arseways with a consequent major tax problem in one case and in another case a will was probated that should never have been since it was voided by a subsequent marriage. With consequent major difficulties with the original beneficiaries.

The executors are liable of course but what should have been straightforward has now turned into a race to court.

Thanks Vanilla

I wouldn't be brave enough to do the Deed of Assent myself - far beyond my capability. I'll leave that to the experts.

In our case the probate was very simple. Mother inherited everything on my fathers death - probate only needed because my mother wasn't on the house deed. It was very straightforward.