(a) spending more than you earn, or
(b) saving?

Saving

Rough estimate of value of home
Amount outstanding on your mortgage:
What interest rate are you paying?no mortgage

Other borrowings – car loans/personal loans etc: none

Do you pay off your full credit card balance each month? yes
If not, what is the balance on your credit card?

Savings and investments: HAve 10,000 between current and regular savings account which I want to do something with. Also have shares worth about 10000 today.

Do you have a pension scheme? yes

Do you own any investment or other property? no

Ages of children: none

Life insurance: none

What specific question do you have or what issues are of concern to you?

I am a researcher so started work late after finishing PhD. I am 33 now and have just cleared all my debts. I work abroad but pay rent both abroad and in Ireland amounting to 860 per month. Since my employment is both uncertain (currently on a 12 month contract) and likely to move around, investing in property seems to be tricky but I do want to save money to make up for this. I have 10,000 in cash which I want to invest but have access to in case I do decide to invest in property. I also have another about 10,000 in shares some of which are Paddy Power which were bought at 6 euro and I want to 'make hay' from those as I am nervous about losing the gains.

What should I do now? If I were to invest in shares, how do I go about it? My father bought those shares originally and I only have control of them recently and he has passed away.

if you invest in a portfolio of shares, you can access the cash within a few days if you find yourself in a position to buy a house.

The Paddy Power situation is tricky. How much are they worth? You will pay 33% cgt on any gains over the first €1270. So definitely sell €1270 of them.