Cut off One Parent Payment??? UNFAIR

tinker-bell

Hi

I have been receiving one parent allowance for over 2 years. I have 2 children, both with the same father. We broke up a few months after having our first child and have not lived together since. He lives close by with his mother and he sees his children a lot. I live in one of his mothers house with my 2 children. He pays 70 a week maintenance and half the utility bills. I have the use of his car for the school runs etc and i do not pay rent. My payment was means tested due to the support i was receiving from him. I was receiving 191 per week.

I now want to start working and have secured a job under the CE scheme and have enrolled for a course due to start in May.

So in order to start the job, my payment had to be increased for the second child. ( i did not realise I had to apply for second child) so a back payment for a year is due. I had been in contact with the inspector and explained the situation of starting work etc and the next thing I get a letter cutting me off my payment. Reason...Co-habiting! This is so wrong. Because I am getting support from my ex they think there is more going on. If thats not bad enough, I cant start the job either cos I need to be in receipt of a payment. I have appealed but im getting no where.

The job is due to start monday and I still don't know if I can do it. Not alone, what am I going to live on if they cut it off for good?

Can they do this? I am not co-habiting. I am considering the solicitor route or TD route??

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

...... I live in one of his mothers house ......... He pays 70 a week maintenance and half the utility bills. I have the use of his car ..............and i do not pay rent.

I'd think you were cohabating too! How far away does he live? How do you actually share the car?

Paying half the utility bills and sharing the car would lead any reasonable inspector to infer that you were living together.