credit card hell

G

goddess

Hello, I was hoping if someone could help me out for a sec--my question probably seems really stupid but this is my first time to have a credit card and the company are being extremely unhelpful. It's not a huge problem (or is it?) but I've had the card three months, paid my first bill straight away (e100) and then apparently went a bit crazy because I now owe e1,800. I know that the interest on this is going to be extortionate but I can't afford to pay this back straight away. I am currently also paying back a 7,000 student loan with BOI, who refused me a c card previously and who want me to increase my loan repayments. I told them I couldn't afford to, but if they see large amounts of money leaving my current acc for c card account can they demand to have my money paid to them instead? I pay them every week but its a small amount and I got the loan in 2001. One of the reasons my c card bill is so high is because on their advice I used some money to pay off my loan.
I can't afford to pay both sufficiently, the interest is rising and I'm really confused and worried. I know I have no one to blame but myself because I shouldn't have got a card, but everyone has one, and they approved me so I thought I was able to afford it. Also all my wages are now going on repayments and I have to keep using the card for commuter tickets, bills, everything. I also have a mobile phone bill.
If this seems like a stupid query sorry for wasting time.. but I'd appreciate if someone who is handling something like this could get back to me..

No offence but you obviously cannot manage a credit card at this point in time so you should not have one. You really need to get rid of or stop using the card immediately otherwise you are simply digging yourself into a bigger hole. It may be possible to transfer to a short terms low/no interest credit card to give you some breating space in terms of interest charges. See the best buys for details.