Could someone share their experience with buying off plan?

petrucci

Hi there,

I'm completely new to property's market. I've recently started looking around for some apartments to buy and am thinking about a new one.
However, I'm not really sure how all this works. I searched the internet but I couldn't find much info on this subject.
Could someone answer me a few questions please:
- what's the story with priority lists - does anyone on it have equal chance of getting the apartment? - if so, why is it called the "pririoty list" :)
- the selling agent is telling me that apartments will be sold on first come, first served basis - from the show units on site - how is this going to happen? 100 people queing from early morning?
- is there a way to pay a booking fee prior to this launch/show?

I can't think of anything else at the moment, I'll post other questions shortly.
I'd really appreciate your help.

Thanks in advance.

Priority list usually just means they will write to you in advance of a new phase launch.

Unless you are a huge investor a sales agent usually wont give you any other special treatment.

Buying from plans, beware of the property size – they often will be smaller than the show unit and there is not a lot you can do about it. Also watch your contract for the amount of leeway the builder give themselves to complete the build – sometimes they try to get up to two years after the stated completion date.

Usually you cant book in advance – you just have to queue, if you are going to live in this place for a few years and it is the most expensive thing you will ever buy then it is worth a night outdoors.