Contracting for a US company, tax forms?

donncha

Hello

I'm an Irish citizen and resident about to work on a contract for a US company. I don't have a US bank account or SSN.

They have asked me for a form W9 to get set-up for payment.

From a search I think I actually need to provide a form W-8, as I'd not be liable for US tax, but I'm not clear. Can anyone help point me at a resource that explains what I need to do?

Many thanks
D

I think you're right - the W-8 is the form to fill out. In my experience, many US companies aren't aware of the W-8 - the standard form for them would be the W-9. The W-9 is only for US people, and that is stated on the form so it should be easy enough to explain to them.

Thanks WS.
I've used the W8 before, for online stock accounts, but I'm not sure if it applies beyond that. There seem to be some variations on the form, I will read into it more.
I have been trawling the US revenue site, and one thing is for sure, I will never ever complain about the complexity of our own tax system again! Their's is a monster.

Edit: also, I think I may be wrong about not being liable for US tax.

donncha,

is your contract direct with the company or through an agency... if an agency they should be helping you in this regards as it can be complicated, my company have some experience of this in the past, did the client assist you in getting a visa or are you an american citizen ?

Legend
No visa or agency - I am Irish citizen & taxpayer, doing the contract from Ireland, no reason to visit the US.
So far, I think I just have to submit a W-8BEN, and will not be subject to US taxes. I have a query in to the IRS and waiting to hear.
I will post back here when it is all sorted. Hoping it is less complicated than I originally thought.
D

This is the reply I received from the IRS. In short: W-9 wrong, W-8BEN correct.