Contract employed or PAYE?

J

johnjoe100

Hi, I’ve just finished college and have begun working for a small software company (12 people). I was told that most people working for the company get paid like consultants /contractors even though they are actually permanent at the office. I have been given the option to either get paid normally i.e. a PAYE waged employee or else get paid by a cheque and do my own taxes etc. Another issue is that I studied business myself and am working here for experience, so I will not be earning near the same amount as the other software engineers i.e. Less than €30,000. This also means that the cost of an accountant could seriously eat up my wages. As I mentioned, I studied business so I believe, because my case is so straight forward that I could pay my own taxes. But I have a few questions

1. Should I just forget about contract and get paid normally?
2. If I go contract what will earning less than €30,000 mean?
3. If I go contract should I ask for more money so I end up with the same take home pay as if they were paying me themselves?
4. If I am reasonably competent and intelligent with accounts could I do my own accounts easily?
5. Tax: Do I need to register for VAT?, What taxes am I liable for?, would filing my own taxes be straightforward enough (1 person, no expenses, less than €30,000, no children/wife etc?,

Any advice or comments would be really appreciated!

Thanks
[/FONT]

I can't see any advantage to going contracting, especially if you end up with the same money.

Yes, no advantage whatsoever from your viewpoint of being treated as a contractor. If the Revenue examine your case, they will probably insist on you being treated as an employee. Best to avoid being dragged into that particular can of worms.