Company surplus conundrum

sandyh2001in

I am an IT contractor and have a limited company setup.

Close company regulations talk about 15 percent surcharge after paying 12.5 percent corporation tax on undistributed income. Are IT contracting limited companies Close companies?

I have about 75 K in the company account at end of year from my contracting income after payment of salary and expenses to myself. What should I do with this? If I take it as salary, I pay about 47 percent tax on it (41 percent paye +prsi+income levy). If I retain it in the company , I pay Corporation tax at 12.5 percent and a surcharge of 15% on half the retained profit, . Also if I decide to take the profit as salary after payment of corporation tax later , I end up paying <>

Intention is to keep the money in the company but not very sure if the euro is going to last for long , so just massively confused right now.

Another advantage of company retaining money could be that I could use it to keep paying me even for months in future when Im out of a contract.

What do you guys do?

I could use it to keep paying me even for months in future when Im out of a contract.

This doesn't seem to be an argument at all. The company can pay it to you now and you can keep the net amount in an account in your name.

The only advantage in deferring it is if you were going to be out of contract for an entire tax year and so had no taxable income that year. Then the money could be used to pay yourself tax-free or at the 20% rate.

It seems to me that the best strategy is to pay yourself a salary, or accrue a salary sufficient to make sure that there is no taxable profit in the company.

Brendan

If I keep the money in the company and payout the 20 percent corporate tax, what happens next year? Whats my Corporate tax liabilty at end of next year?

If I make 100 K again in profit in 2012, how will the tax work?