Commercial Property Investment for beginner

Daddy Ireland

Hi,

I am a PAYE worker on higher tax rate and together with my wife who is a PAYE higher tax payer with no investments in property.

An opportunity has come up to purchase a commercial property in my thriving town for 70k plus 23% vat. Currently rented for 550 p.m plus vat and lessee pays all rates, management charges, ongoing costs.

Why would vat of 23% have to be paid by me ?

Why under current lease is the lessee paying vat on the rent ?

I would be a cash purchaser and I assume I would have no costs really to write off against the rental income.

What other costs would I have if buying the property ?

With interst rates so poor would I be left with a net yield of 4% ?

As you see I am a rookie in this but if I could get an approx 4% net after all costs I would be very happy with that.

Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.

A commercial lease is either subject to VAT at inception or not. It is not you that is VAT registered so much as the lease. As the lease is already in existence as a purchaser you buy into the existing VAT set up.

You pay the VAT on the purchase but can claim that back on the vat on the rent. You need proper advice to make sure no issues arise with this.

I calculate the yield at 9.42%, that is before tax.

That is at or a little below the yield you would expect on commercial property. The reason is that voids are fairly common.

As a cash purchaser you can probably weather an occasional void.

The property seems to be local to you. You may be in a good position to judge if there is a good "covenant". In other words are the tenants likely to be able to pay the rent comfortably. If the tenants are struggling, late payments, requests for reductions, etc all become an issue.

You can evict non paying commercial tenants more easily than residential tenants. But you will almost certainly have a void and maybe a rent free period before a new tenant starts paying you.