Can I temporarily take money out of company and not pay tax?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MeathCommute

I am a contractor with a limited company, and business account. My wife has an inheritance due, and has placed an order for a new car. The car is due to arrive on Thursday, but the money may not come through for a few days after that. I have the money in my business account. Would it be allowable to take the money out of the business account, and not pay the tax on it, then put the money back in to the business account in a few days, once the inheritance arrives?

You’d probably need to put some paperwork in along the lines of the company giving you a loan. This should avoid the taxation problem, as long as you charge some market comparable interest.
Which is very low at the moment anyways.

Hi Meath

The best person to ask is your accountant. There are some rules about accountants having to report such activities. I don't know if it would matter if it were for just a few days. But if went over the year-end you would be in deep trouble.

A bigger question is why do you have so much cash in your company? Have you done a proper tax plan?

Brendan

Why not just take it out as an advance on your wages. Then when your inheritance comes in use it to make up for lost salary in the coming months.

A bigger question is why do you have so much cash in your company? Have you done a proper tax plan?

Brendan

Thanks Brendan. I have to say that I am a bit of a disaster in that regard. I have money in the account, and I am going to talk to the accountant about contributing to a pension for tax planning. I was a PAYE worker for 31 years, and only contracting for a year and a half, so I am not as well up on things as I probably could be. The cash is building up in the company. Thankfully we are very blessed with money at the moment. The inheritance will also help that position