Can I reclaim German VAT?

Dinarius

I am a photographer registered for VAT.

I would like to buy a lens from a German online dealer.

Can I reclaim the 19% VAT?

Many thanks.

D.

ps...for those that might be interested, here's the dealer's website. Compared to Ireland, these prices are excellent.

www.ac-foto.com

Yes you can. If you supply them your VAT number you should not have to pay it in the first place.

Our company accountant told me recently that claiming VAT back across EU borders was hassle - not sure if that's actually the case? But obviously it's easier to supply the VAT number when ordering and have the order charged ex-VAT.

I am no VAT expert but i think Clubman's accountant is correct, it can be problematic caliming VAT back from other states.

Towger might be getting confused with the VAT arrangement (called 4th schedule) that professional service providers have in place where they if get advice from another EU professional service provider then the recipient can self account for the VAT.

This does not apply to the acquisition of goods.

Towger might be getting confused with the VAT arrangement (called 4th schedule) that professional service providers have in place where they if get advice from another EU professional service provider then the recipient can self account for the VAT.

This does not apply to the acquisition of goods.

Not correct
I import a lot of product from the EU from vat reg companies.
I just quote my vat number on my order to my suppliers located in the EU and they ship to me vat free.

Hi, Silly question but presuming that you import something from an EU country and you quote your VAT number you don't have to pay the VAT to them and you then pay it in Ireland - surely the VAT must be paid in one EU country or another. Thanks.