Can I recieve job seekers benefit if I voluntarily leave job?

A

apprentice

Hi all,

Just wondering if someone can clarify this for me please? Ive been working in the same job for just over 5 years and due to the economy slowdown the company has suggested if anyone would consider leaving voluntarily to reduce overheads. A small lump sum would be payable further to negotiations.

My main question is. If I do decide to take this offer am I eligible to recieve job seekers benefit/allowance as I would therefore be actively seeking new employment? Ive read somewhere that there is disqualifications in payment is work is left voluntarily!? Also, if entitled to any, approx how much are these payments?

Any information will be much appreciated, thanks.

Re: Can I receive job seekers benefit if I voluntarily leave job?

I voluntarily left employment in Dec 06, I had a new job at the time of leaving my then employment. The start date for the new job was March 07, I qualified for job seekers allowance for the 8 week break in between. So Volunteeringly leaving my then employment did not disqualify me from availing of job seekers allowance for the period I was unemployed.

You need to be very careful how you explain the situation to the dole office.

Can you get the employer to say that he has laid you off as there is no work?

Guys, thanks for the quick replies.

jhegarty, you may be right there about redundancies on the cheap. Although, if i was to be let go, according to the redundancy calculator they would have to pay around 7000 euros lump sum...so their 'offer' should be slightly more than this to make it attractive for staff. I think there thinking of long term and the salary overheads are huge so maybe 10k payouts are what there looking for?