Can Company change Pension from Non-contributory to contributory?

getoffthepot

I have been working in a company for 30 years with a defined benefit non-contributory pension scheme.
Can the company change that to contributory i.e. 8% contribution going forward.

I worked for the Bank of Ireland and in their non contributory pension scheme. When I resigned from the bank they refused to give me any sort of pension as it was a non contributory scheme. I often wonder what happened to the money that was being put aside for me over all those years. I guess it went to beef up the recent retirement of senior executives.
If your company is changing your scheme and can change your scheme make sure that your 30 years of non contributory pension will be paid to you if you decide to leave their employment and not just the portion back to 1991 when pension rules changed.

I worked for the Bank of Ireland and in their non contributory pension scheme. When I resigned from the bank they refused to give me any sort of pension as it was a non contributory scheme. .
Will you not get a partial pension from this at retirement age?

In regard to BOI pensions, you get vested rights after 2 years now. It was previously 5 years.

Depending on the time period if you worked over 5 years with BOI then you would have had vested rights and therefore the right to a deferred pension/transfer value.

If you only worked for them for a short time then it could be correct that you have no value.

Got offtopic with last post sorry. In relation to companies changing scheme rules. It is not normal but it can happen. Usually new rules apply to only new members but if the fund is in really bad shape then the Trustee's could change the scheme rules. As this is part of the terms and conditions of your employment though, I would have thought it would require your conscent.