Buying with a view to short term let (air bnb)

settlement

Hi all,
I'm new to this game. An opportunity to buy has arisen and the place is an apartment which would only be useful for air bnb really. I actually rent near it and could buy it for cash. It appeals to me as I could air bnb it out and then when it's free I could stay there myself if desired.

The problem here is that it uses up all my potential money for a deposit for a house, which I would otherwise buy and live in. I can save up a deposit again, so I guess if I were to buy to let like this, I would want to be getting very good cash flow.

Renting monthly doesnt seem to pay as well as air bnb, especially for a small apartment in a city like this which is more of an air bnb destination.

My qs are:
- what are the current air bnb (short term let) regulations - can I let it as much as i want if it is not my main residence?
- if the flat is in a block where a service charge etc is due, can other residents object to me renting the place on air bnb?
- how do I go about crunching the numbers? My best idea at present is
1. Take the total buying price (lets say for arguments sake it is 200k) and compare the rental income with average stock market returns (7%)
2. Based on these maths, I would want to make 14k profit per year on the flat compared with stock market (both will be taxed of course and taxation will be similar ish)
3. In order to estimate how much i could charge per night etc, i suppose i am to be guided by nearby similar apartments on air bnb? And of course service charge etc would have to be factored in.

The property itself has value to me beyond a rental and if I were to buy elsewhere in the future, it would be a great city apartment.

Beyond these numbers, there is the opportunity cost of buying a bigger place and renting a room in it, which is something less tractable to maths but which ill have to dwell on a bit. Any thoughts welcome

EDIT for further info: