Buying to Let - Tax issues?

krinpit

Hi, this is my first post on this forum.

As a regular PAYE worker, if I was to buy an apartment and let it out
what proportion of the rent would I lose in tax (assuming that I don't actually live there myself)?

Appreciate your input.

Hi

If the Apartment was 300K.
You can offset the interest portion of the mortgage against the
rental Income.
The Apartment = 300,000
Interest Repayment based on 3.5% interest rate.

Rental Income 12,000
Less Expenses
Mortgage Interest only 10,500
Fixtures & Fuittings 625
Insurance 300
Bins 300
These are main expenses.

Total Expenses 11,725
Profit 275
Tax @42% if you are a high rate tax payer

Any queries please give me an email as I'm a mortgage broker and i can go through it in more detail.

[email protected]

Paraic,

What about the health levy of 2% in addition to the 42%!

Am I the only person who pays 2% health levy on rental profit?????

Please somebody confirm you have to pay 2%!!!

You really should get an accountant to make sure that you are meeting your tax liabilities - no more, no less.

krinpit said:
Hi, this is my first post on this forum.

As a regular PAYE worker, if I was to buy an apartment and let it out
what proportion of the rent would I lose in tax (assuming that I don't actually live there myself)?

Appreciate your input.
do you have any other investments? maybe property isnt the best investment for you in the current environment?do you have a pension? do you think there might be too many apartments on market in next few years? dont rush into buying a rental property in this market.

Paraic
In view of your offer to help krinpit I think it may be in order for you to clarify to AAM what form of broker you are?
I feel it would be more informative if you could give your exact status prior to offering help e.g. tied agent y/n or multi agency or fee based etc.