Buying Silver or Gold in Ireland

discovery101

Hi Guys can you recommend any good reliable places in Ireland to buy any of the above? I am a newbie in the field.

thank you in advance.

I used to buy from Goldcore in Ireland, but I have been told the cheapest around for Europe is
https://www.europeanmint.com/
I haven’t tried them yet. Has anyone else?

Quite a lot of the early pre 1943 Irish coins had a high concentration of silver. Shilling, Florin, Half Crown, Pearse Coin. As well as being collectable for their dates you can have fun seeking out the rarities. Many are available on www.adverts.ie etc

If you are buying physical silver you could pay vat on it if bought in Ireland or UK. Be sure to check this out first before you buy. Gold is not subject to VAT.

Geiger edelmetalle in Germany do not charge VAT as well as [broken link removed] Both are legit/good companies that deliver to your door.

Stay away from gold/silver for numismatic reasons. you will pay an additional premium above the price for gold/silver for these.

Strongly thinking of investing 20% of my funds in physical silver. The time will come again and I won't be waiting a decade to see the price of silver double in price from its current € 14.50 Thanks Laughahalla, I will look into both those companies and purchasing without Vat would be the aim.

Yes Marc it is. Since when is investing in gold or silvet a fad 'thing'.
So you dont recommend your clients invest a portion of their wealth in precious metals ? Now that surprises me.

You should note, It can be a pain/risky to store your own physical gold/silver. To sell it can be a pain too. Obviously , you will be able to sell it at market price but it might take some time and effort to find a buyer.

I use europeanmint.com for silver
https://www.europeanmint.com/2019-1oz-canadian-silver-maple-leaf-coin/They are the cheapest around for commission.
And fast delivery. I used to use Goldcore who were reputable too, but Europeanmint are much cheaper.