Buying Honey.

Odea

Late in life I have developed a likeness for honey. Never really liked it before this. Nothing nicer than a slice of McCambridges brown bread, toasted with honey on it.

The problem is, I am not an expert on honey. I just buy the supermarket stuff. Not sure where it comes from or is it mostly sugar etc.

The plan is to start looking around for a locally produced honey.

I don't really have any farmer's markets close to me here in Dublin. We do have an Avoca and a Donnybrook Fair where I think I might get a honey from a small producer but I am not even sure if this will be any different from the supermarket honey.

Any thoughts or recommendations?

Late in life I have developed a likeness for honey. Never really liked it before this. Nothing nicer than a slice of McCambridges brown bread, toasted with honey on it.

The problem is, I am not an expert on honey. I just buy the supermarket stuff. Not sure where it comes from or is it mostly sugar etc.

The plan is to start looking around for a locally produced honey.

I don't really have any farmer's markets close to me here in Dublin. We do have an Avoca and a Donnybrook Fair where I think I might get a honey from a small producer but I am not even sure if this will be any different from the supermarket honey.

Any thoughts or recommendations?
There is a Honey Farm in the Dublin Mountains. The BK has many aparies and you would get a choice of different types of honey. He also has an online shop. Also if you are near Waterford the Amish on the Dunmore Road have honey and great cakes too. Your local BK’s association would have a list of suppliers too. There is a world of difference between blended multi source honey that is pasteurised and locally sourced honey.

I had a look at the Dublin Mountains man who produces honey. From looking at his website it is only available online and in lots of 20 jars. For the moment I am just looking to purchase an occasional jar as I go. Not really online.