buying back years

M

mmquest

Hi
I am a teacher and I am buying back years at the moment. My husband reckons I'm wasting my money and I should pull out of this?

What do others think? Are some of you pulling out of this?

I know its hard to predict whether the govt will have money or not in 20 years time to pay our pensions!

Just interested in what others think.

Hi
I am a teacher and I am buying back years at the moment. My husband reckons I'm wasting my money and I should pull out of this?

What do others think? Are some of you pulling out of this?

I know its hard to predict whether the govt will have money or not in 20 years time to pay our pensions!

I/we are pondering this very issue at the moment. Mrs. Slim will be short about 5 years at retirement age. So, she opened a PRSA in 2006 and it has held up, just. We have paid in for 2010 and are considering a purchase of 5 years through the work. It is very expensive and the benefit seems relatively small, i.e. 5/40ths of final salary[whatever that is in 2023] for pension and 15/80ths for the lumpsum. Not too concerned about state's ability to pay as governments seems to manage in the long run (naive?). Jury still out.

I'm buying back 10 years myself and am wondering whether its worth it anymore.Would like to hear as many opinions as possible on this...

An additional issue for public servants hired post-'95 who pay the full PRSI stamp is that the government is both raising the old-age pension age to 68 and abolishing the transition pension.

Net, it looks as if full stamp public servants hired before 2004 who had a contractual entitlement to draw pension from age 60 will in fact have to go to 68 or draw their public service pension minus the OACP between ages 60 and 68.

The vast majority of public servants wouldn't even countenance living on their pension minus €11k.

So buying back years to ensure a full pension at 60 may be a pointless exercise.

Pre-95 recruits escape this change.