Borrowing in euro to buy in UK

T

tradefriend

Does anyone know a flexible bank in this area. I want to get equity release from a free and clear property in the UK to fund the deposit on a new buy to let over there, but want to borrow it in euro to save on rate.

I then want to borrow the remainder of the price of the new property in euro also.

I know english banks won't consider it as I'm an Irish resident, so I'm trying to find an Irish Bank who would.

I know of some Irish residents who have done so without collaterising Irish property, but they are all very high net worth, which category I unfortunately don't fall into.

I know there's a currency exchange risk, but worth it I feel.

Any pointers would be appreciated.

what you 'save' on the interest rate you will probably end up loosing on the currency, or so economic orthodoxy suggests. this is a false economy and you are fooling yourself if you believe otherwise.

I'd suggest that depends on your intended exposure to the currency exchange issue - will it be very occasional, or every month?
I have a euro mortgage (being a resident of the Irish Republic) on a property in Northern Ireland, obviously in the Sterling zone, with the Ulster Bank.
Having a good relationship with my bank manager definitely helped matters, but the process required some months of insistence on my part as her various superiors repeatedly told us that such a mortgage was impossible, and that I instead should take out a sterling mortgage with one of their Northern Branches.
I subsequently discovered that they were approving only a handful of such mortgages each year at that time (2004.)
This arrangement works for me primarily because I am employed and earn in the euro zone, hence I don't have the hassle or cost of exchange when paying the mortgage. Also, I am in the position to allow income from the house to accrue in a sterling account for repairs, etc, and in order to save for eventual renovation and extension.