Birthday gift ideas for 2 year old girl?

Bosshog

hi i dont have any kids myself so im not very good at this. I dont want to go for the usual clothes or teddy bears etc.
something educational / early learning type thing perhaps?

wondering if any of you have any good suggestions?

Early learning centre (one on Henry St in Dublin) has some good educational toys. They have they age marked too, to help the less kiddie oriented!

Daisy & Tom in the 'new' shopping centre in Dundrum has a wide selection of kids toys.

I got a lovely wooden bike/trike and trailer for my 2 year old for his 2nd birthday and he has hours of fun on it. He spends his time loading the trailer and bringing everything of for a spin on it. It will last him a good few years and it is very sturdy.

It came flat packed, so make sure to put it together first (maybe shop would do so as it took a good bit of strength to shove pieces together) so as to see the excitement on her face.

I got it in the Early Learning Centre in Waterford. I had to order it as the girl said "they fly out the door" once they come in.

Aquadraw is quite a good option. Essentially, it's a mat that turns blue when it comes into contact with water. It comes with a couple of pens to draw on it with. The mat has all the numbers and letters around the edge, and the worst mess you'll get is a little bit of water on the floor.

If it's not your kid, then chances are other people (parents, aunts, uncles etc) will purchase the strict necessities.

And given that the kid is only 2, they won't really give a toss what you buy them one way or the other.

What I do in such situations is buy something like prizebonds or savings certs for the kid so that they'll have something for themselves when they get older and actually know what they want to buy - and in the meantime, they may actually earn extra money apart from your investment.

ClubMan said:
A miniature ironing board?