Best way to save for students

G

globy

Im a PhD student earning a wage of €1000 a month with no savings other than my SSIA (~7,000) which is due to mature next month. I am paying rent at 450 a month and have the usual domestic bills. I have no car and am very good at saving. However, I am a complete virgin when it comes to savings and interest accounts etc and now that I have this lump sum of money I want to know how best to invest it while I am in college for another four years. I aim to fully invest €5,000 of my SSIA without touching it over the next say 5 years.

I see A.I.B has a regular saver account with interest of 6%. Having talked to a customer service agent of AIB, they informed me that should I lodge €300 a month into this account, I will get my 6% interest rate. Is this true???

Also would it be wise to save with AIB and BOI or open a rabodirect account or another online account and save with them too i.e have your AIB account and/or an BOI or online account. A close friend advised me to invest ~3000 into prize bonds. Has anyone any opinion on this.

Really I would just like to know what would be the best way to invest with this money. People are telling me to do different things and some are skeptical about the AIB reg saver account, claiming that there is no way a bank would give you 6% interest-is this true!!!

Thank you in advance

Have you checked the for details of the best lump sum and regular savings deposit rates on offer? Longer term investments with higher returns will generally involve taking more risk and will probably mean some form of direct or indirect (e.g. low charges unit linked or index tracking funds) equity investment. Have a read of the key topics and the many threads on this sort of issue.

i have those prize bonds for years and never got a win from them forget about them, unless its for a small sum say 100 euro