Best/Simplest software for setting up a website?

Sn@kebite

Hi, Could anybody tell me a good/great program for setting up a website that can be easily produced and maintained (edited)?
Preferably someone with experience of the specific program.

Thanks!!

:)

Hi, Could anybody tell me a good/great program for setting up a website that can be easily produced and maintained (edited)?
Preferably someone with experience of the specific program.
I've no experience of producing a website, but for basic updates and maintainance "Notepad" can easily be used (e.g. addition of new text/links, update of news etc.). Obviously it won't have some of the functionality of more complex programmes, but for the basic updates it's certainly usable. [Click View > Source on the current page and you'll get a Notepad version of the code used to produce this page. When working on one of your own pages, be sure not to infringe on copyright etc of other sites, it's not too hard to figure out what text needs to be modified / added to give the required results. Simply a bit of time and some copy/paste activity. Free code available for download from some sites to allow more complex features to be added such as scrolling news bars and the likes.].

Not suggesting this is the best solution, but a possible way to maintain the basics of the site (without a requirement for training or additional software costs) after production.

Surely Dreamweaver is one of the easiest apps to use? Even Netscape Composer is about as simple as it gets too.

Depends how technical you need the software to be. There are loads of cheap, basic & easy to use template based web design software available.

Diywebkit is one example of these - it's obviously not very flexible but it is cheap and very easy to use.