Best pension for 30yr old sole trader?

J

JackB

Hi, I have been reading through all the posts and still cant decide which pension to choose..
Hoping someone can bring some light to the best pension providers of the following...

Over 35 years, the provider for a sole trader regarding minimum monthly/yearly charges?

Current performer and what they are investing in?

Benefits when pension contributions are finished?

Also, if a sole traders income tax return is say e4,000 pa. How much can he/she contribute to their pension?

Thanks guys..
JB

Have you any other earnings. If you are only earning 4K per annum or 80 pw you will not pay any tax so there is no benefit to you in setting up a pension.

Think he means his tax bill will be roughly 4k after expenses etc are taken into account?

I'm interested in this point as well. I'm a sole trader, and approx half my income is tax exempt, through the Artists' Exemption. The remainder, minus deductions for overheads, does not leave me liable for an excessive amount of tax. Therefore the tax incentives for me to invest in a pension are not great. I spoke to a pensions advisor last year, and he advised me to look into non-pensions investments, for this very reason. I've just bought and renovated my first house, so my need for short-term savings is lessened now. What would you all advise me to do about long term savings - pension or investments?

Sorry about that read it completely wrong lets go back to the beginning

Also, if a sole traders income tax return is say e4,000 pa. How much can he/she contribute to their pension

At 35, you can put away a max of 20% of your gross income or income declared for tax purposes. The following is taken from the pension board website
Age ..........Maximum Contributions
Less than 30........ 15%
30-39 .................20%
40-49 .................25%
50-54 .................30%
55-59 .................35%
60 and over .........40%

You get tax relief at your marginal rate of tax plus PRSI