Barring order

Poc-ar-buille

Few weeks back a friend received a barring order

Situation involved alcohol in the home

Wondering how these things usually pan out?

Do people get back together?

Last edited:
A baring order is usually granted initially on a temporary and 'ex parte' basis - this means that the person seeking the baring order goes to court and gets an emergency, short term order and the person they wish to have excluded from the house isn't represented in court.

To continue the baring order after this initial period there has to be a full court hearing in which both sides participate. It is not uncommon that temporary baring orders are not made permanent at this stage.

I am not a lawyer so your friend urgently needs to get legal advice at this stage and a solicitor to represent him or her. They also need to address their issues with alcohol for their own sake and for the sake of their chances of successfully contesting the temporary baring order.

A baring order is usually granted initially on a temporary and 'ex parte' basis - this means that the person seeking the baring order goes to court and gets an emergency, short term order and the person they wish to have excluded from the house isn't represented in court.

To continue the baring order after this initial period there has to be a full court hearing in which both sides participate. It is not uncommon that temporary baring orders are not made permanent at this stage.

I am not a lawyer so your friend urgently needs to get legal advice at this stage and a solicitor to represent him or her. They also need to address their issues with alcohol for their own sake and for the sake of their chances of successfully contesting the temporary baring order.
A 12 month barring order was agreed