Back to Education Allowance and JB

S

Salar

I have just been made redundant and was thinking of applying for the BTEA scheme for a 3rd level college course in September, for a year only. I know I am only entitled to JB for a year but I was wondering if the JB entitlement is suspended while I do the course or is the years JB entitlement eaten up while I am in college. I worked in construction and I dont see that getting better any time soon.

Your JB is frozen while on BTEA. You can resume your JB when college course ends.

There's a minimum time you have to claim JB before being eligible for Back to Education Allowance - will you meet that by September?

From the information on the SW website, you must be signing on for a minimum of 12 months (9 months in certain circumstances) before being eligible for Back to Education Allowance 3rd level option.

Back to Education Allowance

Last edited:
If the OP was awarded statutory redundancy he/she can access BTEA immediately. The 9/12 month rule does not apply in that event.

Good to know, thanks milic. It's on the page I linked to, but it's included as a bit of an afterthought by the looks of it!

Could I please post a question on this topic: