AVC query - public servant

redwellies

I am 40 and I am considering starting AVC’s. I started teaching in 2006. Would you recommend Cornmarket (I’m a teacher) or are there other providers that you could recommend?
Thanks in advance.

Last edited:
Aren't you on track anyway to have 40 years' contributions (the maximum) by 65?
I started teaching when I was 21. Any interaction I had with Cornmarket reps emphasised that my pension wouldn't be adequate and that I would need to take out AVCs to supplement it. This was of course untrue as I am in the pre 95 scheme. Luckily I did the figures myself and asked the questions about the commission being taken etc and decided I didn't need them. Most of my contemporaries went ahead and took out AVCs and many find now as they approach retirement that they have overfunded them. Best to get some impartial advice if you can. AVCs are certainly a good idea if you will be short on service. A "last minute AVC" is a very tax efficient way of funding any short fall in your pension lumpsum.

This was of course untrue as I am in the pre 95 scheme.
redwellies would seem to be in a Class A Prsi scheme so he/she should have plenty of scope to fund an AVC without over-funding, even with full service. The thing he/she needs to be consider is what level of taxation is likely to apply to pension drawdowns (arf or annuity) post-retirement. If it is likely to be at top rate then there is little point.
Of course, there is also scope to top up the tax free lump sum if there will will be less than full service, eg, early retirement, job-sharing.

@redwellies - most brokers should be able to fix you up with a PRSA-AVC. You can shop around (or negotiate) regarding fees, allocation rates etc. If you are comfortable going without advice on specific investment funds you can opt for an execution-only PRSA-AVC with a low cost discount broker, eg, Labrokers.ie or PRSA.ie.